Tuesday, May 17, 2016

Absolutely Almost by Lisa Graff

Image result for Absolutely Almost by Lisa Graff 
Absolutely Almost by Lisa Graff

Book Trailer from YouTube
Albie has never been the smartest kid in his class. He has never been the tallest. Or the best at gym. Or the greatest artist. Or the most musical. In fact, Albie has a long list of the things he's not very good at. But then Albie gets a new babysitter, Calista, who helps him figure out all of the things he is good at and how he can take pride in himself.

A perfect companion to Lisa Graff's National Book Award-nominated A Tangle of Knots, this novel explores a similar theme in a realistic contemporary world where kids will easily be able to relate their own struggles to Albie's. Great for fans of Rebecca Stead's Liar and Spy, RJ Palacio's Wonder 
 and Cynthia Lord's Rules.

Resources for Teachers and Librarians 

Audio Name Pronunciation with Lisa Graff
Listen to an interview about the book and its themes
Read an interview about the creation of the book
Reading Guide for Absolutely Almost by Celeste Caso
Educator's Guide for Lisa Graff's Books (aligned to Common Core Standands for Grades 4-6)

Author Lisa Graff's Website - Absolutely Almost